每週推介 - 來福純米大吟釀超精米8%


來福純米大吟釀超精米8%

文:黃詩詩

 

米是釀造日本清酒的主要材料及靈魂,而近年清酒界開始走向「超精米」的新趨勢。什麼是「超精米」?其實是關於釀造清酒的其中一環「精米步合」,磨走米表面的比率越高,剩餘米芯的比率越少,稱之為「超精米」。時代不斷進步,磨米的精米機技術越來越先進,近年有不少酒藏已經出產少於10%精米步合的超精米清酒。

 

其中一支令我印象深刻的超精米清酒正是來福純米大吟釀超精米8%。對!即是磨走米粒外層的92%,剩下8%米芯要不斷開才可以用作釀酒,需要的是超高技術。

 

位於茨城縣的来福酒造成立於1716年,至今已有300年歷史。此酒榮獲Sake Competition 2016年「Super Premium」類別的金獎。此酒味道十分細緻優雅,帶米香及花香,酸度不算高,帶清爽水果香氣,餘韻溫文,十分優雅,有點非誠勿擾的感覺,要靜下來慢慢欣賞。

 

那份精緻及清澈的酒香,跟那些充滿濃郁米香、鮮味及果香的清酒風格截然不同。如果其他清酒是牡丹,來福便是一朵清雅的蓮花。

Wine of the Week - Raifuku Junmai Daiginjo Ultra 8


Raifuku Junmai Daiginjo Ultra 8
Text: Cecilia Wong 

Rice is the heart and soul of Sake, the most recent Sake trend is also about rice: “Super refined rice ratio". So what is "Super refined rice ratio" Sake? It is related to "Rice Polishing Ratio”, one of the procedure in making Sake. The more you polish away the outer part of the rice, the lower rice polishing ratio you get, and the higher the grading for the Sake. Super refined rice ratio Sakes are the ones with super low ratio. Thanks to the modern technology, some breweries has already produced Sakes with the Rice Polishing Ratio less than 10%.

One of my most memorable super refined rice ratio Sakes is Raifuku Junmai Daiginjo Ultra 8. Yes, only 8% of the rice remains while 92% of the rice has been polished away. It really needs extremely high technology to achieve without breaking the rice.

Raifuku Sake Brewery is situated in Ibaraki-ken and it has been established for over 300 years since 1716. This special Sake has won the Gold Medal in Super Premium category of the Sake Competition 2016. It is elegant and smooth, with floral, rice and lightly fruity notes. The acidity is mild and the finish is very silky. Don’t open this bottle if you are not seriously in the mood , it needs a calm and quiet atmosphere.

The pure and elegant aromas are distinct from the other fruitier Sakes, if the others are peony, then Raifuku Junmai Daiginjo Ultra 8 is lotus.