每週推介 - Ornellaia & siblings

歐納拉亞(Ornellaia)是最著名的超級托斯卡納(Super Tuscan)之一,於1981年由Ludocivo Antinori創立。它的葡萄園在同一年種植,4年後,歐納拉亞的第一支葡萄酒誕生於1985年。自2005年,它由花思蝶酒莊(Marchesi de’ Frescobaldi)全資擁有。

 

位於托斯卡納馬雷瑪(Maremma)的著名產區寶佳麗 (Bolgheri) DOC,這里以波爾多葡萄品種如赤霞珠,梅鹿,品麗珠和小維鐸而聞名。當然,歐納拉亞也是由這些葡萄品種生產的。與波爾多葡萄酒一樣,葡萄混合取決於年份天氣和產量。對我來說,歐納拉亞總是最具波爾多風味的超級托斯卡納,帶有草本植物,尤其是青椒,黑果和香料的香氣。

 

歐納拉亞除了不斷釀造優質葡萄酒外,還從2006年開始為其原木箱包裝增添了一些藝術價值。像木桐羅斯柴爾德 (Mouton Rothschild)一樣,每年都會邀請一位藝術家設計酒標,但與其不同的是,在一個6支原木箱中只有一個瓶子是藝術酒標! 另有超小量大瓶裝, 聰明!

 

和其他波爾多葡萄酒一樣,酒莊還有第二和第三款葡萄酒。 Le Serre Nuove是第二款葡萄酒,也是用波爾多葡萄釀造的,雖然來自較年輕的葡萄藤,也經歷了較短的橡木陳釀, 但我非常喜歡它的新鮮和柔滑的口感。

 

第三款葡萄酒Le Volte不像它的哥哥們。它以梅鹿為主,配以赤霞珠和桑嬌維塞。風格方面,它不太適合陳年。作為日常飲用的葡萄酒,它提供很好的果香果味和一些香料,單寧不是很強,餘韻不俗。

 

馬塞多(Masseto),單一葡萄園單品種(100%梅鹿),也被稱為“意大利Petrus”,曾經是歐納拉亞的一個非常親密的兄弟。然而,隨著政策的變化,它們現已疏遠了,我猜馬塞多現在更像是歐納拉亞的表弟。這可能對花思蝶較好,因為馬塞多的價格標籤正在高速上升而又與歐納拉亞的方向不同。 歐納拉亞和其兄弟仍然是比較”值租”的選擇!

Wine of the Week - Ornellaia & siblings

One of the most famous Super Tuscan, Ornellaia was started in 1981 by Ludocivo Antinori. Its vineyards were planted in the same year and after 4 years, the first vintage of Ornellaia was born in 1985. In 2005, it is fully owned by Marchesi de’ Frescobaldi.

 

Located in Bolgheri DOC, the prestigious appellation located in Maremma, Tuscany, where is known for Bordeaux grape varieties like Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot. Of course, Ornellaia is produced, as well, by these grape varieties. The cepage (grape variety; grape blending) varies each year depending on the vintage weather and production. To me, Ornellaia is always the most Bordeaux-like Super Tuscan with the herbaceous, especially the aromas of capsicum, dark fruits and spices.

 

Ornellaia, apart from making great wines continuously, added some artistic value to its OWC (original wooden case) packing from 2006 onwards. Like Mouton Rothschild, an artist is invited to design the label every year, but unlike Mouton Rothschild, there is only one bottle in the case of 6 comes with the art label! Plus a very limited numbers of large formats. Smart way to increase the volume, isn’t it?

 

And just like other Bordeaux wines, there is second and third wine for the winery. Le Serre Nuove, the second wine, is also made with the Bordeaux grapes, though from younger vines and undergoes shorter oak ageing. I quite like it for its freshness and silky texture.

 

The third wine, Le Volte, is something not quite like its elder brothers. It is Merlot-based with the supplement of Cabernet Sauvignon and Sangiovese. Style-wise, it is not meant to be aged. As a daily drinking wine, it usually offers great fruits and some spice, not very tannic with reasonable finish.

 

Masseto, the single vineyard single varietal (100% Merlot), also named “Italian Petrus” used to be a very close sibling of Ornellaia. However, with the change of policies, they are now distant and I guess Masseto is more like a cousin to Ornellaia now. It could be a great move of Frescobaldi as the price-tag of Masseto is running sky-high and not in the same direction as Ornellaia. Ornellaia and the siblings are still the value choices!