每週推介 - Domaine de Chevalier


文:Ivy Tsang

當我正在學習(我還在學習)葡萄酒時,我以為Domaine de Chevalier是勃艮第酒莊,因為波爾多葡萄酒廠的名字通常以“Chateau”而不是“Domaine”開頭。根據酒莊莊主的說法,這個名字很久以前就被使用了,除了在著重風土的意義上和“勃艮第”相似之外,他還提到了Domaine的意思包括想要為家庭住宅和農業莊園創造的和諧環境。

該酒莊誕生於17至18世紀,最初名為“Domaine de Chivaley”,1865年由Arnaud和Jean Ricard購買後改為Domaine de Chevalier。1953年,該莊園的紅葡萄酒和白葡萄酒被分類為“Crus Classes de Graves”。現在的主人,伯納德家族 (Family Bernard),於1983年收購了這個美麗的莊園。從那時起,經過實驗後的改革和改造,提高質量,當然,聲譽也得到了提高了不少。

像往常一樣,紅葡萄酒是用波爾多葡萄混釀製成的,包括赤霞珠,梅鹿,品麗珠和小維鐸,而白葡萄酒則使用長相思和賽美蓉。像Pessac Leognan的許多葡萄酒莊一樣,它們白酒的產生遠少於紅酒。基於對白酒的巨大需求,通常Chevalier的白酒比紅酒更貴。近年份的評價都受到各葡萄酒評論家的高度評價!

這次專注於白酒,我認為在那些Crus Classes blanc中,Domaine de Chevalier Blanc確實擁有最優質的優雅和結構,而價格在該地區仍然具有很強的競爭力!我建議在幾個小時內慢慢品嚐,你會發現在不同階段提供不同的東西,複雜而層次分明。


Domaine de Chevalier Blanc 2011, Cru Classe, Pessac-Leognan - 750ml
  • JS 99
  • RP 93-95
  • WS 91-94
Regular Price HK$669.00 Special Price HK$612.00
Domaine de Chevalier Blanc 2013, Cru Classe, Pessac-Leognan - 750ml
  • JS 98
  • RP 93-95+
  • WS 92-95
Regular Price HK$720.00 Special Price HK$627.00
Domaine de Chevalier Blanc 2014, Cru Classe, Pessac-Leognan - 750ml
  • JS 95-96
  • RP 95
  • WS 94
Regular Price HK$698.00 Special Price HK$519.00
Out of stock

Wine of the Week - Domaine de Chevalier


Text:Ivy Tsang

When I was studying (am still learning) wine, I thought Domaine de Chevalier was a Burgundy winery as Bordeaux wineries usually have their names started with “Chateau” instead of “Domaine”. According to the owner, the name was used long time ago, apart from being “Burgundy” in the sense of focusing terroir, it also referred to the harmonious environment they wanted to create for both the family residence and agricultural estate, including crops and breeding.

 

The winery was born in 17th – 18th century, first named “Domaine de Chivaley, then changed to Domaine de Chevalier when purchased by Arnaud and Jean Ricard in 1865. In 1953, both red and white wines of the estate were admitted in the classification of “Crus Classes de Graves”. The owner now, Family Bernard, acquired the beautiful estate in 1983. Since then, reforms after experiments and renovations were made to improve the quality and then, of course, the reputation was also improved.

 

As usual, red wines are made with Bordeaux blends, including Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot while Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon are used for the white. Like many of the wineries at Pessac Leognan, they produce much less white then red. Having a huge demand on its white, usually Chevalier’s white is more expensive than the red. Recent vintages are all highly rated by various wine critics!

 

Focusing on the white this time, I would say that among those Crus Classes blanc, Domaine de Chevalier Blanc does have that elegance and structure of the finest white while the price remains highly competitive in the region! I would recommend drinking the wines over a few hours and you will find the wine offers you something different at stages, complex yet layered.